Hamilton Mission Trip!

This is the chronicle of the most excellent Hamilton Mission Trip 2011.  Behold the beautiful city :)  Every great mission trip needs a good location, and Hamilton is among the best of ’em.

Every great mission trip also needs to be based on the Bible.  The Word is the strongest weapon against the Enemy.

Meet Faith, our beautiful and fearless leader.  Every great mission trip needs one of those, too.  I love this image because I think she depicts well the joy and passion that we felt being there, but the marginalized people who we desired to reach are also represented.

Praise and worship!  So essential, and so beautiful to be able to glorify God by singing together :)  See below for the band photo:

Prayer!  Here we are at the home of Pastor Abraham, prayer warrior for Hamilton.  Jesus said: “Whoever believes in me will also do the works that I do; and greater works than these he will do, because I go to the Father.  Whatever you ask in my name, this I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son.  If you ask me anything in my name, I will do it.”  – John 14:12-13

Another essential: fellowship.  Human interaction, communion, conversation, relationships; these things are what create the bond which enable us to make a difference in one another’s lives.  See more below.

Intense laughter, and restful solitude.  Sometimes it may seem hard to find a balance between the two, especially with 10 people in a one-bedroom apartment like we were, but it’s important nonetheless.

Aspiring artists!  Though I would love to take credit for this image due to its incredible beauty, the photographer was young Halima, who is perhaps 8 years old, or so, and likely never used a camera like mine in her life.  Other forms of artistic expression were also offered to the kids living in the apartment building we were staying in, as we hosted a Kids Day and invited everyone over.  Somewhat chaotic and definitely noisy, the day was a smashing success, and we made many new little friends :)

Beautiful friends, and balcony views: these things make Hamilton a wonderful place to be.  Without forgetting some streetshots (seen below), I truly have all I need here, in terms of photography.

Et voila!  The most amazing team ever!  It was so awesome to walk, talk, work, sing, and pray with you all, and to see how God brought us each to this place in different ways but for a great purpose!  I am so thankful and blessed to have met each and every one of you, and pray that He will continue to use you to change lives.  Be it through volunteering, eating together, dancing, worshipping, or any of the other things that we did during our stay downtown, we made amazing memories and I’m sure my life will never be the same!  I love you all, and Godbless!

Praise Him for His mighty acts; praise Him for His excellent greatness! – Psalm 150:2

One response

  1. Amanda DeJong

    Love these pics! It looks like you had a great time spreading God’s Word through Hamilton. Next time you go give me a call and I’d love to come help, and meet Pastor Abraham :)

    March 11, 2011 at 9:32 am

Leave a Reply

